📩

Managing Deployments

Deployments

Deployments are the way to automatically provision PixieBrix Blueprints to Groups of team members

Create a Deployment

  1. Define a shared blueprint in the Workshop. For it to be accessible to your organization, you must do one of the following:
    1. Use the @scope for your organization in the brick id
    2. Share the blueprint publicly
    3. Share the blueprint with organization
  2. On the Admin Console Team page, click Deployments to go to the Deployments Listing page
  3. image
  4. On the Deployments Listing page, click Create Deployment
  5. image
  6. In the Create Deployment modal, give your Deployment a Name
  7. ⚠ī¸

    The deployment name will be visible to team members that receive the deployment

    If the Deployment has integrations, the form will prompt you to select which Integration Credentials to use with the deployment

Assign a Deployment to Groups

Create a Group

  1. On the Admin Console Team page, click Groups to go to the Groups Listing page
  2. image
  3. Enter a name for the new Group and click "Create New Group". Then, select the Group from the table
  4. image

Add Members to the Group

Assigning Group Permissions

  1. On the Bricks tab, click "Add Bricks"
  2. image
  3. In the modal, select the same Blueprint that you chose for the deployment. By leaving the "Automatically add private dependencies" toggled on, PixieBrix will automatically grant access to any bricks referenced by the Blueprint
  4. image
  5. Skip if your deployment does not use any Integrations. Click on the Integrations tab. Add any Integrations that you've configured your deployment to use
  6. image
  7. Skip if your deployment does not use any Team Databases. Click on the Databases tab. Add any Databases referenced directly or indirectly by your Blueprint

Assign the Group to the Deployment

  1. On the Admin Console Team page, click Deployments to go to the Deployments Listing page
  2. image
  3. Click on the Deployment in the list, and click on the Groups tab
  4. image
  5. At the bottom of the table, select the Group you created and click "Add Group"
  6. image

Team Member Deployment Activation

⏱ī¸

The PixieBrix Browser Extension checks every 10min for new/updated Deployments. Team members can also manually open the PixieBrix Active Bricks page to activate deployments

Refer to

for Team Member instructions for activating deployments

Deactivating Deployments

⚠ī¸

Deleting a Deployment will also delete its configuration and audit history. To temporarily deactivate a deployment, follow the steps below

There are two ways to temporarily deactivate a deployment:

  • Pause the deployment
  • De-provision groups from the deployment

Pausing a Deployment

  1. On the Admin Console Team page, click Deployments to go to the Deployments Listing page
  2. image
  3. Select the Deployment you want to deactivate
  4. To temporarily pause a deployment, toggle the "Active" state on the deployment detail page
  5. image

De-provisioning groups from the deployment

  1. On the Admin Console Team page, click Deployments to go to the Deployments Listing page
  2. image
  3. Select the Deployment you want to deactivate
  4. Click on Groups to view the Groups the Deployment is assigned to
  5. image
  6. Click Remove next to the Groups that you want to deactivate the deployment for.
  7. image
  8. To re-activate a Deployment, follow the "Assign the Group to the Deployment" instructions above

Individual Deployment Deactivate

ℹī¸

Restricted members of organizations cannot uninstall deployments

✉ī¸

PixieBrix can be configured to send email alerts when an individual team member de-activates a Deployment. To configure this, contact support@pixiebrix.com

Individual Team Members can de-activate a deployment from the Active Bricks page

  1. Find the Deployment in the Active Team Deployments section
image
  1. Click "Uninstall"
  2. To re-activate the Deployment, click "Activate" in the banner
image